Summer Smoothies

Mango is my favorite tropical fruit.  We particularly like the small sweet Adolfo mango, also known as Champagne Mango.  I stand the mango up on its stem end, carefully slice down each side of the large seed, then, holding a mango half in my palm, make crisscross diagonal cuts.  Then I turn the half inside out so that the bite size pieces can be scooped off with a spoon. For fruit plates, I sometimes leave the half just as it is i the photo, for each person to scoop for themselves.

When we lived in Indonesia, we had a mango tree in our back yard.  I made pies with them, very much like peach pie.

I like them plain, but also use them in salsa, sauces, and smoothies.  Summer is upon us here on the Texas Gulf Coast, so a mango smoothie is a wonderfully cool, refreshing breakfast.  This week I made them with some mint, kiwi, and blueberries added.  Yum!

Summer Smoothies

1 cup Greek Yogurt, plain

2 mangos, pitted, peeled and cubed

2 kiwi

1/2 cup blueberries

1 sprig of mint leaves, plus extra for garnish

Mix all ingredients in blender, adding a few ice cubes for extra chill.  Pour into 2 tall glasses, garnish with mint and peach or mango slice.

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Smoothies

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.