Ham and Cabbage Skillet Dinner

As I posted a few weeks ago I love one dish dinners. I particularly love to make supper in a skillet. The photos look almost the same! Both contain cabbage but the remaining ingredients are very different. We cut the last small cabbages from our winter garden so this is one of the results. You may want to vary the time for cooking the carrot and cabbage in the beginning. We like vegetables still crunchy, but cook longer if you want them fork tender.

Ham and Cabbage Skillet Dinner

2 cups chopped ham

1 Apple, peeled and chopped

3 Carrots, peeled and sliced

1/2 large head or 1 small green cabbage

1/2 tsp Black pepper

1 1/2 tsp Caraway seeds

1/2 tsp Salt

1 tbsp Cider vinegar

2 tbsp Olive oil

1/2 cup White wine
Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add cabbage and carrot and cook, covered, for 4-5 minutes, stirring a few times. Add wine and simmer for 1 minute. Add ham, apple, vinegar, caraway, salt and pepper. Simmer on medium heat for 5 minutes, uncovered, stirring, or until cabbage and apples are tender and most of the liquid has been reduced.

 

3 thoughts on “Ham and Cabbage Skillet Dinner

    • Thank you, Karen! My Kitchen Keeper posts are fewer these days due to several issues, among them my husband’s declining health and loss of vision. I am not cooking as much or writing as much, but I miss both!

      Like

      • I’m sorry Mary Ann, your posts are always welcomed when ever you have the time. I wish you both a better day each and every day.

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.