Texas Pecan Pound Cake

20160303_151528I read this morning that today, March 4, is National Pound Cake Day. I must have known it was coming because yesterday I pulled out an old favorite recipe for pound cake and baked it. As with most pound cakes, the list of ingredients and mixing are fairly simple.  This one’s claim to fame is the addition of a cup of Texas pecans.  The recipe was given to me over 40 years ago by my neighbor on McCree Road, Jean Merrill. She wrote it on a note pad from her kitchen and I still pull out the yellowed slip of paper and use it, remembering what a good neighbor she was and how much our chldren enjoyed playing together. I believe the recipe itself came from Jean’s father, who owned a restaurant in San Antonio.

20160303_141327_00120160303_141346

In the middle of heated campaigns in a presidential election year, I smile when I see the notepad, likely a campaign freebie from John Traeger, who served as State Senator from District 21 in Texas.  Mr. Traeger’s daughter Cam and her husband previously owned the house we lived in when Jean gave me the recipe.  They had been friends of Jean and Ralph, who became our neighbors and friends when we bought the house in 1972.  My goodness, the memories that baking a cake can bring to surface!

We like the addition of a generous splash of good vanilla extract!

Texas Pecan Pound Cake

2 sticks of butter, room temperature

2 cups sugar

2 cups flour

5 eggs

1 cup chopped pecans.

As you can see, I was given a minimum of directions, which I consider a compliment.  Jean knew that I knew the order and manner of mixing!  I will expand instructions but after you have baked this cake as many times as I have, you won’t need them!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a tube or bundt pan. With electric mixer, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add vanilla and eggs, one at a time, beating after each.  Add flour gradually.  Stir in pecans and spoon into pan.  Bake 55 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

