Rosemary Wreath Chicken Soup

018

I like to cook with herbs I grow in our garden, but I also like to share them.  Many people know they are welcome to stop by and cut their own bunch of fresh herbs.  I also like to use herbs for making small gifts.  During the holidays, I made a number of these small rosemary wreaths, tucked in a bay leaf, and tied them with a bit of ribbon to attach to this recipe. I think the next time I take a pot of soup to someone who needs a meal, I might add  one of the little wreaths and the recipe.  A similar herbal wreath is mentioned here.

.http://jimlongsgarden.blogspot.com/2013/12/make-cooking-wreath.html

 Herb Wreath Chicken Soup

2  quarts chicken broth or stock

2 chicken breasts

2 stalks celery, chopped

1 onion, chopped

2 – 3 carrots, peeled, sliced

The entire cooking wreath

1/4 teaspoon turmeric

sea salt to taste

freshly cracked black pepper

wide noodles (I use Reames frozen noodles)
Bring broth to a boil and add the chicken and vegetables. Cook until the chicken is tender,  remove chicken and chop, then add back to the soup. Add the noodles and rosemary wreath,  and simmer for 15 – 20 minutes or until noodles are tender.

Leave a Reply

