Leek, Kale, and Red Pepper Quiche

015

I have always like to plan meals by using ingredients I already have in the refrigerator, freezer, or pantry.  I dislike wasting food, and try to be creative in using up our perishables.  So last Saturday when I was putting together a late breakfast, I made this quiche because we had leeks, kale and red pepper.  I have used leeks in quiche and tarts before, and certainly red pepper is a common enough addition, but I wasn’t sure how well we would like kale for breakfast.  Turns out we liked it very much.  This would also be a wonderful light lunch or supper with the addition of a salad.  The fresh vegetables were beautiful as I chopped and wilted them.

007I used a prepared pie crust since I had one in the refrigerator, but you could certainly make your own.  The finished product smelled so good our mouths were watering as we sliced it.  I garnished with a nasturtium leaf and flower.

014

Leek, Kale, and Red Pepper Quiche

              4 fresh eggs
              1 cup milk
              2 tablespoons flour
              1 teaspoon dried French thyme
              1 teaspoon dried mustard
              1 cup shredded cheddar
              2 tablespoons olive oil
              1 large leek or 3 small leeks,  sliced very thin
              3 cups kale, sliced very thin
              1 sweet red pepper, seeded and chopped
              Salt and pepper to taste
              nutmeg
Saute the leeks in the olive oil for 2 minutes. Add kale and red pepper and saute another 2 minutes. Remove from heat. Whisk eggs, add to milk, flour and seasonings in a bowl, stir in cheese. Spread vegetable mixture in crust. Pour egg/milk/cheese mixture over. Sprinkle lightly with nutmeg.  Bake at 375 for 40 minutes, or until golden brown and knife inserted in center comes out clean.

2 thoughts on “Leek, Kale, and Red Pepper Quiche

  1. I love Quiche, but have never cooked/eaten Kale. This sounds like a very healthy dish and will give me a way to try out Kale. THANKS!

    Like

  2. I think you will like this, Margaret. Kale rates very high for nutrition and can also be delicious. I have tried it in many of the same ways I use spinach. Let me know what you think!

    Like

Leave a Reply

