Mango Salsa

IMG_0217Tomato salsa  may be our most frequent accompaniment to eggs, Mexican food, and tortilla chips – but fruit salsas compete strongly for favorites.  Among those, mango salsa is at the top of the list.  It may be hard to save a mango or two when I bring them home because we love them plain and with Greek yogurt.  Last week I used the last two out of a carton of six to make this beautiful topping for baked fish. I have also used it to layer over a roasted pork tenderloin or to dress up grilled chicken breasts.  If there happens to be any leftover, we pull out the corn chips and have a snack.

Mango Salsa

2 mangos, peeled and diced*
2 medium Jalapenos, seeded and diced
1/2 small red onion, chopped fine
2 tablespoon lime juice
1/2 cup roughly chopped cilantro leaves
Salt and pepper
Combine the mango, , Jalapeno, red onion, lime juice and cilantro leaves and mix well. Season with salt and pepper, to taste
* I wash and pat dry the mango, stand vertically with stem end down, and with a sharp knife, slice down by the side of the large seed, repeating on the other side.  Then lay each mango half in the palm of my left hand, and with a small paring knife, carefully cut into the mango, making diagonal cuts in opposite directions. Then I turn the mango half inside out, and the cut sections pop out.  These can easily be scraped off with a spoon or the paring knife.

 

3 thoughts on “Mango Salsa

    • I love Hatch salsa, too! I like to use the small champagne mangos, Ataulfo. I get them at Costco in bubble box of 6. The combination of the tart sweet mango and heat of the peppers plus lime and cilantro, with onion for crunch works is a taste treat. Thanks for keeping up with Keepers, Kelli. I can’t wait to try your crockpot hot rolls.

      Like

      • I’ll try to smaller ones – maybe that was it. We have a Sam’s so I’ll try there. I’m sure you will like those crock pot rolls because they are fantastic!

        Like

Leave a Reply

