Pickle, Pickle, Pickle.

IMG_0115IMG_0116

Our sons, like their mom, liked to talk and did so early when they were babies.  One of Sean’s favorite early words was “pickle.”  We had a little book called Pickle Juice and when we read “pickle, pickle, pickle”, he would clap his hands and laugh out loud.  I smiled thinking about the pickle book and Sean’s laughter when I made two kinds of pickles last week. The weather had been perfect for a bumper crop of dill heads, so I bought some pickling cukes at the market.   I like to make refrigerator pickles because I don’t need to do a canning bath or soak cucumbers.  I found this recipe on The Old Farmers Almanac blog,  wwww.almanac.com and adapted it for my personal preference.

No canning or special equipment required! It’s simple, easy, and surprisingly delicious!

Ingredients:
3-1/2 cups water
1-1/4 cup white vinegar
1 tablespoon canning salt (NOT table salt)
1 tablespoon sugar
cucumbers, unpeeled, sliced into disks (about 4 cups)
2 cloves garlic (whole)
2 heads fresh dill ( I love dill, so I always use more)

Instructions:
Boil the water, vinegar, sugar, and salt in a saucepan. Turn off heat and set asidel. Add cucumbers, garlic, and dill to glass jars. Cover with the hot liquid. Put in the refrigerator for 3 to 4 days. I doubled the recipe when I filled these jars. The pickles should be good for 6 weeks. Enjoy!

Another garden harvest led to these yummy cauliflower pickles.  I cut two heads of cauliflower, one golden yellow (Cheddar is its name) and one white, added carrots, onions, and lots of yummy spices for this delicacy which is typically used as a condiment in Israeli breakfasts!

IMG_0118IMG_0117

2 thoughts on “Pickle, Pickle, Pickle.

Leave a Reply

