Mary Ann’s Eggs Benedict

Most of the recipes I have posted since beginning this blog have been healthy foods although I have given little recognition of calories and carbohydrates. Since I need to pay stricter attention to both after coming up with prediabetic numbers in recent testing, I am going to share some of that adventure with you! It wouldn’t be fair to leave that part of our family’s food story out. I will confess, my first reaction was grief. As an R.N., I have certainly been aware of creeping weight gain associated with aging and the high levels of stress we have had during my husband’s numerous hospitalizations and surgeries. In other words, I knew the wake up call was coming. Of course, I should have been on top of it long before lab results defined what I had to do, but I kept putting it off. So now, I need to face the issue head on. I decided I would focus on my goals (healthier, longer life, weight loss, and a return to normal blood sugars) and the things I could eat as opposed to what I could not.

The short version of planned change is that I am increasing my exercise and avoiding white sugar, white flour, and white rice. I have engaged some tools to help me track food and activity. I am determined to find healthier, creative, delicious foods and continue my delight in cooking for my family. I am aware that I am modeling a healthier lifestyle for my children and grandchildren.

Being a food blogger, I read numerous other similar blogs. While reading one this morning I saw that today is National Eggs Benedict Day! Eggs Benedict is my all time favorite breakfast, so I decided to make myself a Monday treat. It is certain that my breakfast most days is much simpler, but I had to try this. My version drops the English muffin and substitutes sautéed spinach. With a small piece of leftover Easter ham, a poached egg and measured Hollandaise, my mission was accomplished. Delicious enough to serve anytime.

Mary Ann’s Eggs Benedict 1 serving

1 large handful raw baby spinach, washed

1.5 ounces honey baked ham (about the size of your palm)

1 egg

2 Tablespoons prepared Hollandaise sauce (I used Chef All Natural brand from HEB)

Spray small skillet with cooking spray, add ham on one side of the pan. When ham begins to brown, crack one egg on the other side of the skillet. Put 1 teaspoon water in (I do this with the skillet lid) and cover. Reduce heat and cook until egg is desired firmness. Remove egg and ham with spatula and place on serving plate. Put spinach into skillet and toss until wilted. Slide spinach onto plate under egg and ham. Hollandaise will be thick, so put it into the same skillet and stir briefly until it warms, then drizzle on top. One pan does it all!

Note: The brand of prepared sauce I used only comes in a 32 ounce box which should be used within a week once opened. It can be poured into an ice-cube tray and frozen in individual portions. Making your own Hollandaise would be even better.
Calories – 241, carbohydrates – 5 grams, Fat – 16 grams, Fiber – 1 gram, Calcium – 4 gram
(calculation done with www.myfitnesspal.com )

One thought on “Mary Ann’s Eggs Benedict

  1. Looks to be very healthy and definitely EASY to prepare. I love Eggs Benedict, too, so I will have to try this easy version. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

