Fruitcake Report

As promised, I am posting the results of using Eudora Welty’s White Fruitcake recipe.  I used slightly less pineapple than called for, and baked the cake in one large tube pan.  It took 2 1/2 hours, and I did increase the oven temperature from 225 to 275 for the last 45 minutes since it was such a deep and dense cake.  When I took it out of the oven, I could hardly wait to see it.  I drizzled 3/4 cup bourbon over the hot cake, and have sprinkled 1/4 cup every few days since.  The crumbs are delicious.  This tastes nothing like the dark citron spotted fruitcakes that arrived in red tins when I was a child.  I think it will make a splendid addition to the Christmas Day dessert table.  Thank you, Miss Eudora.

Leave a Reply

