Apologies and Fruitcake

Computer problems created a gap in posting, but I am just starting my Christmas baking and candy making, so more frequent posts these next 2 weeks will make up for the absence I hope.  Now, about fruitcake.  I have never really liked most fruitcakes, so I have never baked one.  The closest I came was a date roll made with Mother’s recipe years ago.  But I recently came across a recipe that Eudora Welty used and wrote about.  And if I am ever going to bake a fruitcake, it is going to be this one!  It was originally given by her friend Mrs. Mosal to Eudora Welty’s mother, who passed it on to her

In her foreword  to The Jackson Cookbook , she writes:  “I daresay any fine recipe used in Jackson could have been attributed to a local
lady, or her mother – Mrs. Cabell’s Pecans, Mrs. Wright’s Cocoons, Mrs. Lyell’s Lemon Dessert. Recipes, in the first place, had to be imparted – there was somthing oracular in the transaction – and however often by others, they kept their right names. I make Mrs. Mosal’s White Fruitcake every Christmas, having got it from my mother, who got it from Mrs. Mosal, and I often think to make a friend’s fine recipe is to celebrate her once more, and in that cheeriest, most aromatic of places to celebrate in – the home kitchen.”

                             Mrs. Mosal’s White Fruitcake

1 1/2 cups butter
2 cups sugar
6 whole eggs
1 teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup whiskey [plus additional for soaking]
4 cups sifted flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 pound chopped pecans
1 pound crystallized cherries, half red, half green
1 pound crystallized pineapple, half red, half green

Cut fruit in small pieces and dust with 1 cup flour. Cream butter and sugar well; add eggs 1 at a time. Sift dry ingredients with remaining 3 cups flour;
add this to sugar mixture alternating with whiskey. When well blended, add fruit and pecans. Bake in tube pan at 225 degrees [F] for about 2 hours.
When done, pour 1/4 to 1/2 cup whiskey over while still hot. Serves 20-24.
Mrs. J. A. Mosal

I will let you know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

