Seashell Egg Bake

Beginning today, I am experimenting with introducing a category of foods and posting something for that section daily.  Weekly posting has become a welcome habit for me, and I enjoy it.  We will see if I can manage a daily post.  I have so many recipes to share.  I think this will be an adventure for us all.  I am choosing to begin with BREAKFAST.

In 1999 I gave my husband a cookbook for an anniversary present.  OK, so that doesn’t sound like a very meaningful romantic gift – unless you know that I wrote on the first page that my gift to him was to cook the recipe of his choice once a month.  The book was titled Breakfast In Bed, by Carol Frieberg, and is a collection of the best B&B recipes from Northern Califoria to British Columbia.  It has become one of my favorite and most used cookbooks.  The following recipe is adapted from the book.  It is easy, quick, and one of those Wow!  dishes when served in scallop shells which can be purchased at any cookery store.  The original recipe is served at the Log Castle Bed and Breakfast on Whidbey Island in Langley, Washington.

                    2 slices bacon, fried crisp and crumbled

                    2 cups grated Swiss cheese

                   4 eggs

                    4 teaspoons heavy cream

                   Sea salt and fresly ground pepper to taste.

Preheat oven to 350 degreees. Spray a 3-4 inch scallop shell with nonstick cooking spray and lay on top of a foil lined baking sheet.  Make a nest of cheese in each shell, scooping a small indentation in the center.  Crack one egg into each nest of cheese.  Add 1 teaspoon cream, salt and pepper on top of egg and sprinkle with bacon crumbles and a little more grated cheese.  Bake for about 12 minutes or until egg is firm and does not jiggle when you slightly shake the baking sheet.  I like to serve with fresh fruit or a sliced tomato and a slice of whole grain toast. 

Note:  A side effect of enjoying the recipes in this book is developing a desire to visit the B&B’s they are from.  Today I had a good internet tour of Whidbey Island.  What a lovely place to visit!

Leave a Reply

