Pot Luck? Bring Bok Choy Salad.

There are a special few kitchen creations that have made it into the Potluck Hall of Fame.  You know, the ones people ask for, the ones people link your name to with approval.  Once, I didn’t even know what Bok Choy was.  Now I gladly grow it in my garden.  The dark green unfolding leaves fan out and stand in stark contrast to the stark white stems, a gratifying success to the vegetable gardener.  Bok Choy Salad first showed up on our family table after I saw a recipe in a Southern Living magazine years ago.  It has never failed to be a hit when I make it to share.  This recipe makes a large amount.  Any combination of nuts and seeds can be toasted for the crunch topping.    One important tip:  Unless you are planning for the whole salad to be eaten at one meal, put the chopped Bok Choy and green onions in a large ziplock bag, and serve individual portions with toppings and dressing added at the last minute.  That way all ingredients stay fresh for another couple of days.  Dressed Bok Choy, like most salads, tends to be soggy the next day, although still tasty.

                                                          Bok Choy Salad                        serves 10

                                        2 packages ramen noodle mix.  (I discard the seasoning                                                        packs, so flavor is not really important.)

                                        1/2 cup sliced almonds

                                         1/2 cup sunflower seeds

                                          3 Tablespoons sesame seeds

                                           1/2 cup sugar (try substituting honey or agave nectar)

                                           1/4 cup cider vinegar

                                            2 Tablespoons soy sauce

                                             1 Bok Choy, chopped fine

                                              6 green onions, chopped

Crumble noodles (discard flavor packs).  Combine noodles, almonds, and sesame seeds.  Spread on baking pan and bake at 350 for 10 minutes or until golden.

Bring sugar, oil, vinegar, and soy sauce to a boil in a small pan.  Allow to cool.

Toss bok choy and onions in a large bowl with cooled dressing, top with toasted noodle mixture.  Serve immediately.

3 thoughts on “Pot Luck? Bring Bok Choy Salad.

  1. YUM! Bok choy is so good! I like just boiling it in water…very quick and healthy lol. Thanks for sharing! I’m still trying to get the hang of blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ I would love some advice and feedback 🙂

    Like

  2. Mary Ann, I have been reading your blogs. Wow!! I love this one and maybe I need to do at least two myself. How do you keep up with all this. I think I will try the bok choy salad. I had no idea one could grow it here–well the Panhandle is a far cry from where you live but now it is hot enough that is for sure. My herbs and horseradish are the happiest plants I have this year. Juliana

    Like

    • Juliana, I am so glad you like Kitchen Keepers. It took some time, but I gradually got in a rythym which means I publish to each blog on Mondays, or close to it. sometimes I have things come up which interfere, but I am learning to write when I have the time or the inspiration, save it as a draft, and ponder it some more. At times I have several drafts ready to polish. Then, when Monday rolls around, I click on edit, give it one more chance for revision, then click publish! I picked Monday because that is usually a day when I don’t have other commitments other than that it is laundry and catchup day. I do some writing on weekends, and carry my camera with me most of the time. Yes, you will like the bok choy salad! Try putting in some bok choy plants along with any other greens you might plant in your fall garden. I know you get much harder winter weather than we do, but my collards and bok choy survived some pretty severe freezing temps last year. I put in fall tomatoes a month ago, and most of them are struggling. My peppers and herbs do love the heat and this terrible dry spell though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

